The Episodes

M*A*S*H ran for an impressive 11 years, from September 1972 to February 1983. A total of 251 episodes were broadcast over the course of those 11 seasons on CBS. The vast majority were half-hour episodes but there were also five hour-long episodes: “Welcome to Korea” (Season 4), “Bug Out” (Season 5), “Fade Out, Fade In” (Season 6), “Our Finest Hour” (Season 7), and “That’s Show Biz.”

Production company 20th Century Fox gave the hour-long episodes two individual production numbers. Technically, that means there were 256 episodes of M*A*S*H but only 251 broadcasts on CBS. When M*A*S*H went into syndication, the hour-long episodes were split into two half-hour episodes.

Additionally, three two-part episodes were broadcast. Each two-part episode aired over two consecutive weeks and both parts were a half-hour in length. The final episode was two-and-a-half hours long.

The following pages provide information about the episodes:

Episode Guide

Brief summaries of all 251 episodes with original air dates.

Episode Spotlight

From the Blog: My reviews of all 251 episodes of M*A*S*H, originally published weekly between January 2013 and October 2017.

Broadcast History

A comprehensive listing of the original broadcast dates (day of the week and time slot) for every episode, every repeat and every pre-emption during all 11 seasons of M*A*S*H.

Alternate Versions of Scenes from M*A*S*H Episodes

Learn about alternate versions of scenes from episodes like “Chief Surgeon Who?” and “The Incubator.”

TV Guide Episode Summaries

Read the short TV Guide episode summaries for Season 2 and Season 3. More summaries coming soon.

Nielsen Ratings & Rankings

See how episodes of M*A*S*H fared in the weekly Nielsen TV rankings.

Episode List (Broadcast Order)

A list of all 251 episodes of M*A*S*H as broadcast by CBS broken down by season.

Episode List (Production Order)

A list of the 256 episodes of M*A*S*H in production order.