Playing Cards

Talk about all things M*A*S*H -- the novel, the film, the television series, even the play. Not to mention the spin-offs, merchandise, cast, crew and anything else you can think of to talk about.
Big Daddy O'Reilly
Colonel

Playing Cards

Post by Big Daddy O'Reilly »

Hi gang, here I am again, doing yet another one of my write-up threads that you couldn't give a rat's tail about!

My thread on jeep caps
My thread on bath robes
My thread on highneck sweaters

This time in the write-up we're gonna be looking at playing cards.

Okay, so before I start, I admit that I'm not an expert on playing cards: I don't know all of the brands there are in existence, I barely know what hand beats what in poker, I can't do any magic tricks with them, and I don't even know how to play any games like Go Fish or Gin Rummy! But, playing cards are still interesting nonetheless, and since poker played such a big part in M*A*S*H, it's interesting to see the kinds of cards the gang play with from time to time.

To start off, from observation, it seems like the Bee brand playing cards were the prefered choice amongst the gang at the 4077th, as confirmed by its distinctive custom Ace of Spades seen here:
Bee cards are known for their busy, diamond back design, and the red deck seemed to be handled a bit during the first season, but it seems like after that, the blue deck was more common.
Bee must have been a really popular brand of playing cards back in those days - the boys from HOGAN'S HEROES seemed to like playing with them:
As did Felix and Oscar and their poker buddies from THE ODD COUPLE:

The ever-popular (and ever-widely available) Bicycle brand cards, with their widely-recognized, signature rider back design, popped up a few times as well, though nowhere near as often as the Bee cards appear to; and likewise, both blue and red have seen their share of use:

Here's a deck that threw me off: