Margaret's Pregnancy Scare

Talk about all things M*A*S*H -- the novel, the film, the television series, even the play. Not to mention the spin-offs, merchandise, cast, crew and anything else you can think of to talk about.
Big Daddy O'Reilly
Colonel

Margaret's Pregnancy Scare

Post by Big Daddy O'Reilly »

This was discussed on BCA at one point, I think it may be interesting to see people's thoughts and opinions here...

Many people feel that Margaret's pregnancy scare suggests that if she was indeed pregnant, that Donald wasn't the father, because she kept saying that, "Donald and I are not... uh... uh...", etc. The problem is, that doesn't add up to what she had confided in Hawkeye earlier in the episode: she starts off by telling him that she was with Donald in Tokyo about six weeks ago before she mentions she thinks she's pregnant... now, admittedly, I'm not an expert on conception, but I believe it takes at least three weeks for the typical symptoms like Margaret had to appear, doesn't it? Let alone be able to determine the pregnancy. Also, as she talks to Hawkeye, she blames Donald for everything (as in the fact that her pregnancy means the end of her military career) to which Hawk replies, "Well, I wouldn't pin it all on Donald, I'm sure you were there at the time it happened".

All things considered, Donald would have had to have been the father, though that still doesn't explain the later "Donald and I are not... uh... uh..." thing. Of course, there's always the continuity errors as well: how long was the engagement? Eight weeks, or eight months? I forget, but irregardless, Margaret dropped all sexual contact with Frank, and others (remember, she was having affairs with practically all the Generals as well), and hinted throughout the engagement that she and Donald must have already had some sort of intimacy ("He paid for that shower curtain out of his own pocket, and it wasn't even our fault when it ripped").
Big Daddy O'Reilly
Colonel