Gothics? (Vampire, werewolf, etc) references in M*A*S*H

Talk about all things M*A*S*H -- the novel, the film, the television series, even the play. Not to mention the spin-offs, merchandise, cast, crew and anything else you can think of to talk about.
stormy_daze
Private

Gothics? (Vampire, werewolf, etc) references in M*A*S*H

Post by stormy_daze »

Hey, all!

I'm a PhD student and writing a chapter on M*A*S*H and masculinity, focusing on Hawkeye, Klinger and Winchester.

I've been asked to write a conference paper on M*A*S*H and Gothic. I have a few episodes in mind for a more subtle Gothic ("Dreams", "Hawk's Nightmare",Follies of the Living, Concerns of the Dead", etc, but I remember the series had quite a few jokes about classic Gothic stuff like Dorian Gray (there's a reference in "The Smell Of Music" on Dorian Gray), and Jekyll and Hyde (Dr Pierce and Mr Hyde, Dr Winchester and Mr Hyde).

I don't really have time to rewatch the entire series looking for jokes remotely related to the Gothic - things like vampires, werewolves, Frankenstein, other Dorian Gray/Oscar Wilde or Jekyll and Hyde comments, etc. Can anyone remember any references off the top of their heads that would narrow down this massive list, it would save me a LOT of time.

Any help you can think of, references at all relating to anything you consider 'gothic', please let me know!

cheer!

sunday :mrgreen:
stormy_daze
Private

Re: Gothics? (Vampire, werewolf, etc) references in M*A*S*H

Post by stormy_daze »

Oh PS - I am on a time limit, hoping to get a good draft within next month or so. :!: Thanks!
RJ
General of the Army

Post by RJ »